

TEE TIMES NEWS BULLETIN

Issue 135 August 13 2020

Interim update from WBGC

Your editor apologises that owing to a combination of personal and practical circumstances it was not possible to produce a full TTNB this week.

All the results since our previous published edition on August 4 will appear in TTNB 136 that will be published early next week.

However, there are two competitions that take place this coming week and are worthy of mention here.

TC and Shaun lead in Badger

Tony Coventry and Shaun Ponsford shot net 60 on Sunday August 9 to win the first round of the Badger Trophy. Nigel Day and Chris Prior were two shots behind in second place while Mike Wiggins and Jimmy Scott were third with net 63.

However, the outcome of this two-round, better-ball medal competition is far from over as 16 pairs lie within six shots of the leaders and a packed field is close behind.

All will be revealed in the second round coming up this Sunday, August 16.

82 players qualify for Liddiard final

The nine-hole, Wednesday qualifying competitions for the Liddiard Cup were completed on August 12 with 82 now eligible for the final to be played next Wednesday August 19.

Wednesday August 5

There were 26 entrants last week of whom 16 players scored the necessary 19 points or over to qualify.

Robin Land won with a splendid 25 points while Christy Whelehan with 22 points beat Colin Price on count-back to take second spot.

Wednesday August 12

The final round saw 20 contestants compete in very hot weather with 13 reaching the qualifying score.

Stephen White won with 24 points on count-back from Charlie Dixon while a three-way tie on 23 was resolved on count-back with Chris Prior taking third spot from Simon Barrie and Paul Barton.

Chris takes Herbie Sternberg Trophy

Chris Prior won the Herbie Sternberg Trophy, a competition that is awarded for the best aggregate score from a maximum of five Liddiard qualifiers.

The final placings were:

1. Chris Prior 115
2. Stephen White 108
3. Chris Terrett 103
4. Charlie Dixon 100

Chris returned an average of exactly 23 points over the five rounds - well played indeed. An honourable mention must also go to Chris Terrett who played all ten rounds and recorded an average of 19.6 points a round.

Liddiard Final Wednesday August 19 18-hole qualifying competition off the white tees

Please note the rules of engagement are exactly the same as other qualifying competitions.

- * Book a tee time in the Pro-Shop.
- * On the day of the competition enter your name on the start sheet in the clubhouse.
- * Affix a competition stamp on your card.

And enjoy!

A full list of qualifiers for the Liddiard Cup Final

Brian Bailey	Steve Cox
John Baron	Roger Crowhurst
Simon Barrie	Mike Denny
Paul Barton	Charlie Dixon
Paul Beake	Geoff Dominy
Sam Belcher	Pete Dye
Liam Bint	Bob Ekins
Nick Bishop	Jack Findlater
Darren Boulton	Stephen Fisher
Dan Bowsher	Ray Freeman
Ian Boyd	Andy Grayson
Rob Bridgeman	Andy Greaves
Mark Brind	Barrie Green
Chris Brind	Ian Haines
Simon Brown	John Harris
Robert Camden	Colin Harrison
James Cameron	Pete Hill
Richard Campbell	Brian Holmes
Phil Cannon	Dan Hoskin
John Carroll	Steve Jones
Greg Collins	Nathan Keep

Andrew Kerr Stuart King John Lafferty Robin Land Ian Lewin Barry Marshall Tom McAuley Liam McCullough Simon McNeill Andrew Morton Gordon Munro Mustapha Mzouri Lee Nicholson Billy Nicholson Gerry O'Sullivan Jamie Pithie Lloyd Ponsford Kim Potter Colin Price Chris Prior Jason Read

Toby Richards Aaron Rid Trevor Rogers Wayne Rolls Jake Rowell Steve Salter Ian Saunders Degga Smith Alan Stark Dan Taylor Chris Terrett Kevin Thorne Dave Ware Mark Westbrook Paul Westbrook Christy Whelehan Stephen White Keith Wilkins Andy Yates